Ranga Yogeshwar at the Smart Business Day 2020.

Emil's world – an outlook into the future.

My grandson Emil was born in January 2020 and the chances are good that he will experience the 22nd century. This is how the future becomes concrete. In which world will Emil live? His generation is growing up with all kinds of new things that are taken for granted: speaking machines, artificial intelligence, a new medicine, but also with changes in social interaction. His world will be different from the "business as usual" of my generation. Emil's world will be the result of a global transformation and, I hope, his world will be a better one in the end! 

In his lecture, Ranga Yogeshwar, science journalist and author, will open his audience's eyes to the big picture and take them on a journey into a future whose shape can already be guessed but not really grasped. 

 

About the speaker.

Ranga Yogeshwar

Ranga Yogeshwar was born in Luxembourg in 1959, the son of an Indian engineer and a Luxembourg artist. He graduated from RWTH Aachen University with a degree in physics and in 1987 moved to Westdeutscher Rundfunk Cologne, where he was head of the science department. During his television work he designed and presented numerous television programs, including "Quarks&Co.", "Die Große Show der Naturwunder" and "Wissen vor Acht". Since 2008 Ranga Yogeshwar has been working as a freelance science journalist and author. He has received more than 60 awards, including honorary doctorates from the Universities of Wuppertal and Koblenz-Landau, an honorary professorship at the Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences, the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Order of Merit of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Ordre de Mérite du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. The bestselling author and father of 4 children lives with his wife near Cologne.

Ranga Yogeshwar beim Smart Business Day 2020.

Emils Welt – ein Blick in die Zukunft.

Mein Enkel Emil wurde im Januar 2020 geboren und die Chancen stehen gut, dass er das 22. Jahrhundert erleben wird. Damit konkretisiert sich Zukunft. In welcher Welt wird Emil leben? Seine Generation wächst mit allerlei neuen Selbstverständlichkeiten auf: sprechenden Apparaten, künstlicher Intelligenz, einer neuen Medizin, aber auch mit Veränderungen im gesellschaftlichen Miteinander. Seine Welt wird anders sein als das „business as usual“ meiner Generation. Emils Welt wird das Ergebnis einer globalen Transformation sein, und, so meine Hoffnung, seine Welt wird am Ende eine bessere sein! 

In seinem Vortrag eröffnet Ranga Yogeshwar, Wissenschaftsjournalist und Autor, seinen Zuhörern den Blick auf das grosse Ganze und nimmt sie mit auf eine Reise in eine Zukunft, deren Gestalt sich schon jetzt erahnen, aber nicht wirklich greifen lässt. 

 

Ăśber den Referenten.

Ranga Yogeshwar

Ranga Yogeshwar wurde 1959 in Luxemburg als Sohn eines indischen Ingenieurs und einer luxemburgischen Künstlerin geboren. Er schloss sein Studium an der RWTH Aachen als Diplom-Physiker ab und wechselte 1987 zum Westdeutschen Rundfunk Köln, wo er das Ressort Wissenschaft leitete. Während seiner Fernsehtätigkeit entwarf und moderierte er zahlreiche Fernsehsendungen, u.a. „Quarks&Co.“, „Die Große Show der Naturwunder“ und „Wissen vor Acht“. Seit 2008 ist Ranga Yogeshwar als freier Wissenschaftsjournalist und Autor tätig. Er erhielt mehr als 60 Auszeichnungen, darunter die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universitäten Wuppertal und Koblenz-Landau, eine Honorarprofessur der Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, das Bundesverdienstkreuz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, das Verdienstkreuz des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und den Ordre de Mérite du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Der Bestsellerautor und Vater von 4 Kindern lebt mit seiner Frau in der Nähe von Köln.