Digital trends 2020 for the finance and insurance industry.

These developments influence the success of financial service providers.

Digitaltrends 2020 Finance

St. Gallen / Frankfurt, 11 February 2020 - Technology never sleeps, not even in the financial and insurance sectors. The new year brings with it some developments that will be important for the industry: Namics, one of the leading Swiss full-service digital agencies, has identified three key digital trends for 2020. Dr. Roman Zollet, financial expert and Senior Principal Consultant at Namics, knows how financial service providers have to deal with them in order to compete.

Trend 1: Marketing automation - learning from the challengers

For a long time, the financial sector, and especially banks, found it difficult to communicate digitally and data-based with their customers. However, thinking in terms of customer journeys has now become established and the next step is now to create the appropriate interactions and to play them out automatically. 

The goal is automatic individual communication with customers - based on their enriched user profiles. "Every interaction should follow the next-best-action approach, i.e. offering customers the next action with digital access at every digital touch point on the customer journey," advises Zollet. "Financial service providers should view and analyze the customer journey from an outside-in perspective. It's also worthwhile to test fresh and bold interaction options. That's how you constantly learn." Pioneers in the field of marketing automation are Fintech and Challenger banks, which are exclusively digital.

Trend 2: Customer Data Analytics - remaining relevant

Customers expect excellent advice and support from their financial service providers in order to achieve their own (financial) goals. Traditionally, they often approached the financial advisor with their wishes - this is now often done the other way around: Financial service providers use Customer Data Analytics and can anticipate their needs. The technology not only provides valuable knowledge, insights and advice for proactive action and consulting: Its potential applications range from churn prevention to up-selling and fraud detection. 

Customer Data Analytics thus raises personalization and the perceived value of consulting to a whole new level. The risk of missing or even losing opportunities with your customers is thus considerably reduced. "I recommend starting small with customer data analytics for proactive measures, for example with a single use case," says Zollet. "This can then be tested with the help of a pilot group, obtain personal feedback, adapt it accordingly, expand it if necessary and - very importantly - review it again.

Trend 3: Hybrid consulting - intelligently combining digital and analogue

Online and offline consulting are increasingly merging - also in the financial sector. For a hybrid consulting approach, however, the transitions must work perfectly. A new intelligence of interaction guarantees a first acceptable level of consistency - and some financial services providers have already started to invest in appropriate digital solutions. They allow part of the advisory process to be carried out digitally and then to be followed up in a personal meeting. Thanks to intelligent systems, the self-service options at the point of entry lead to greater efficiency for both sides. In addition, providers can better prepare for advisory meetings, avoid the loss of data and information and achieve direct visibility. For customers, this means above all flexibility, convenience and seamless advice on different channels.

The expert's practical tip is: "To penetrate the consulting process from A to Z, insurance companies and banks need a solid understanding of the user journey, the business logic and the existing and necessary technology architecture," says Zollet. "When these three perspectives come together, added value is created for all sides: for the interested party or customer as well as the provider. However, this also requires organizational change at the provider, which is typically underestimated.

Roman Zollet
Roman Zollet is a financial expert and senior principal consultant at Namics (source: Namics).

Do you have any questions? I look forward to hearing from you.

Sabrina Schöttler
Sabrina Schöttler, Communication Manager

Digitaltrends 2020 fĂĽr die Finanz- und Versicherungs-branche.

Diese Entwicklungen beeinflussen den Erfolg von Finanzdienstleistern.

Digitaltrends 2020 Finance

St. Gallen / Frankfurt, 11. Februar 2020 – Technologie schläft nicht, auch nicht in der Finanz- und Versicherungsbranche. Das neue Jahr bringt einige Entwicklungen mit sich, die für die Branche wichtig sein werden: Namics, eine der führenden Schweizer Fullservice-Digitalagenturen, hat drei entscheidende Digitaltrends für 2020 identifiziert. Dr. Roman Zollet, Finanz-Experte und Senior Principal Consultant bei Namics, weiss, wie Finanzdienstleister mit diesen umgehen müssen, um sich im Wettbewerb zu behaupten.

Trend 1: Marketing Automation – von den Challengern lernen

Die Finanzbranche und insbesondere Banken taten sich lange schwer damit, digital und datenbasiert mit ihren Kunden zu kommunizieren. Das Denken in Customer Journeys hat sich aber mittlerweile durchgesetzt und im nächsten Schritt geht es jetzt darum, die passenden Interaktionen zu kreieren und automatisiert auszuspielen. 

Das Ziel ist eine automatische individuelle Kommunikation an die Kunden – basierend auf ihren angereicherten Nutzerprofilen. “Jede Interaktion sollte den Next-Best-Action-Ansatz verfolgen, also Kunden an jedem digitalen Berührungspunkt der Customer Journey die nächste Maßnahme mit digitalem Anschluss anbieten”, rät Zollet. “Finanzdienstleister sollten die Customer Journey aus der Outside-in-Perspektive betrachten und analysieren. Zudem lohnt es sich, frische und mutige Interaktionsmöglichkeiten zu testen. So lernt man laufend dazu.” Vorreiter im Bereich Marketing Automation sind Fintechs und Challenger-Banken, die ausschließlich digital unterwegs sind.

Trend 2: Customer Data Analytics – relevant bleiben

Kunden erwarten von ihren Finanzdienstleistern eine exzellente Beratung und Unterstützung dabei, die eigenen (finanziellen) Ziele zu erreichen. Traditionell kamen sie dabei oft mit ihren Wünschen auf den Finanzberater zu – das findet mittlerweile öfters auch umgekehrt statt: Finanzdienstleister nutzen Customer Data Analytics und können den Bedarf antizipieren. Die Technologie liefert nicht nur für proaktives Handeln und die Beratung wertvolle Erkenntnisse, Insights und Ratschläge: Ihre potenziellen Einsatzgebiete reichen von Abwanderungsprävention über Up-selling bis hin zu Betrugserkennung. 

Damit hebt Customer Data Analytics die Personalisierung sowie den wahrgenommenen Wert der Beratung auf ein ganz neues Level. Das Risiko, bei seinen Kunden Chancen zu verpassen oder sie gar ganz zu verlieren, sinkt damit beträchtlich. “Ich empfehle mit Customer Data Analytics für proaktive Massnahmen klein anzufangen, zum Beispiel mit einem einzelnen Use Case”, so Zollet. “Diesen kann man anschliessend mithilfe einer Pilotgruppe testen, persönliche Feedbacks einholen, entsprechend anpassen, bei Bedarf vergrössern und – ganz wichtig – erneut überprüfen.”

Trend 3: Hybride Beratung – digital und analog intelligent kombinieren

Online- und Offline-Beratung verschmelzen zunehmend – auch in der Finanzbranche. Für einen hybriden Beratungsansatz müssen die Übergänge allerdings perfekt funktionieren. Eine neue Intelligenz des Zusammenspiels garantiert ein erstes annehmbares Level an Durchgängigkeit – und einige Finanzdienstler haben bereits begonnen, in entsprechende digitale Lösungen zu investieren. Sie erlauben es, einen Teil der Beratung auf digitalem Weg durchzuführen und anschliessend in einem persönlichen Gespräch anzuknüpfen. Die Self-Service-Optionen beim Einstieg führt dank intelligenter Systeme zu mehr Effizienz für beide Seiten. Zudem können sich Anbieter besser auf Beratungsgespräche vorbereiten, den Verlust von Daten und Informationen vermeiden und direkte Sichtbarkeit erzielen. Für Kunden bedeutet das vor allem Flexibilität, Komfort und eine nahtlose Beratung auf verschiedenen Kanälen.

Der Praxistipp des Experten lautet: “Um den Beratungsprozess von A bis Z zu durchdringen, brauchen Versicherungen und Banken ein solides Verständnis der User Journey, der Business-Logik und der bestehenden sowie nötigen Technologie-Architektur”, so Zollet. “Wenn diese drei Perspektiven zusammenkommen, entsteht für alle Seiten Mehrwert: für den Interessenten oder Kunden sowie den Anbieter. Das erfordert allerdings auch organisatorischen Wandel beim Anbieter, was typischerweise unterschätzt wird.”

Roman Zollet
Roman Zollet ist Finanz-Experte und Senior Principal Consultant bei Namics (Quelle: Namics).

Sie haben RĂĽckfragen? Ich freue mich auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

Sabrina Schöttler
Sabrina Schöttler, Communication Manager