Smart Business Day 2020: Data-driven Transformation

Three mornings, three topics, one virtual event

  • The topics: From Data-driven Marketing to Leadership and Business Innovation
  • Danone, Siemens, AMAG and many more provided insights into success stories as well as implementation challenges 
  • The well-known science journalist Ranga Yogeshwar and Prof. Dr. Heike Bruch from the University of St. Gallen took a look into the future
  • About 160 participants in three days

Zurich / Frankfurt, October 30, 2020

Yesterday, the eleventh Smart Business Day of the full-service digital agency Namics - A Merkle Company ended – this year purely digital and spread over three days. Under the motto "Data-driven Transformation", the focus was on data-driven marketing, leadership and business innovation from October 27 - 29. Speakers from international companies and the scientific community (Danone, Siemens, AMAG Group, dentsu, University of St. Gallen) spoke about the profitable use of data, modern leadership in an agile environment and new digital business models. The final presentation was held by science journalist Ranga Yogeshwar, who took a look into the digital future.

In this extraordinary year the symposium took place purely virtually for the first time. The speakers were connected via live stream. The broadcast with moderator Tim Dührkoop was live from a studio in Thurgau and reached about 160 participants from Switzerland and Germany. During the lectures, they could interact in the chat, ask questions to the speakers or use the virtual networking for direct exchange. The Smart Business Day is one of the most important information platforms on the digital change in Switzerland and has been held annually since 2009.

Tim Dührkoop, host of the Smart Business Day and Client Service Director, Namics – A Merkle Company:
"This year we have digitally transformed ourselves – instead of Apero in GDI Networking via chat. I am all the more pleased to look back on a successful virtual Smart Business Day. The enthusiasm and expertise of the speakers, the exciting insights into the digital transformation and the lively exchange with the guests also worked very well digitally".
Tim Duehrkoop

Smart Business Day 2020: From the customer journey of today's customers to Emil's world in 2100

Day 1: Data-driven Marketing

Smart Business Day 2020 - Azlan Raj

Anastasia Roumelioti (Head of Digital Centre of Excellence, Danone Specialised Nutrition UKIR) started the first day with the focus on "Data-driven Marketing". She gave an insight into how Danone deals with increased customer expectations, the role of data and technology in this, and the results the company has achieved in two years since the digital transformation. Azlan Raj (Chief Marketing Officer, EMEA - CXM LOB, dentsu) then explained how marketers create a complete and meaningful customer experience – taking into account both the visible and invisible customer experience. His credo: "The little things count".

Day 2: Leadership

Smart Business Day 2020 - Clarissa Haller, Siemens

The second day was dedicated to the motto "Leadership". Clarissa Haller (Head of Group Communications, Siemens) opened the presentation streams and showed what modern leadership looks like. Success factors for leaders have long since ceased to be the period of employment and the greatest expertise. What is needed instead is a fresh breeze, courage and trust in one's own employees. Michael Rottmann (Account Director, Namics – A Merkle Company) then explained how data has become a success factor in a leader's internal and external communication and how managers can reach every employee – from the hesitant laggards to the young innovators. "Give data a chance, but judge critically," he appealed. In conclusion, Prof. Dr. Heike Bruch (Director of the Institute for Leadership and Human Resource Management, University of St. Gallen) explained why a genuine new work and leadership transformation is urgently needed. "New Work needs Unbossing", she emphasized, clarified myths of New Work Transformation and showed important steps towards real transformation.

Day 3: Business Innovation

Smart Business Day 2020 - Ranga Yogeshwar

The third and final day focused on the topic of "Business Innovation". In his presentation, Philipp Wetzel (Managing Director AMAG Innovation & Venture LAB, AMAG Group) spoke about the transformation of mobility and how AMAG gains new insights and develops innovative business models with the help of the Innovation & Venture LAB. At the end of the Smart Business Day, science journalist and physicist Ranga Yogeshwar took a look at global innovations and the future of his grandson: What will Emil's world look like? "Everything that is annoying will be made digitalizable," he showed using supermarket checkouts as an example. With all the groundbreaking technical developments, which are supported by data, the discussion about ethics and limits should not be forgotten, according to Yogeshwar.

The recordings of all lectures will be available in the course of the coming week under the following link: https://namics.com/smart-business-day-2020.

Do you have any questions? I look forward to hearing from you.

Sabrina Schöttler
Sabrina Schöttler, Communication Manager

Smart Business Day 2020: Data-driven Transformation

Drei Vormittage, drei Schwerpunkte, ein virtuelles Event

  • Die Themen: Von Data-driven Marketing ĂŒber Leadership zu Business Innovation
  • Danone, Siemens, AMAG und viele mehr gaben Einblicke in Erfolgsgeschichten sowie Herausforderungen bei der Umsetzung 
  • Einen Blick in die Zukunft warfen der bekannte Wissenschaftsjournalist Ranga Yogeshwar und Prof. Dr. Heike Bruch von der Universität St. Gallen
  • Rund 160 Teilnehmer*innen an drei Tagen

ZĂŒrich / Frankfurt, 30. Oktober 2020

Gestern ging der elfte Smart Business Day der Fullservice-Digitalagentur Namics – A Merkle Company  zu Ende – in diesem Jahr rein digital und ĂŒber drei Tage verteilt. Unter dem Motto “Data-driven Transformation” standen vom 27. - 29. Oktober die Themen Data-driven Marketing, Leadership und Business Innovation im Fokus. Referent*innen internationaler Unternehmen und der Wissenschaft (Danone, Siemens, AMAG Group, dentsu, UniversitĂ€t St. Gallen) sprachen ĂŒber den gewinnbringenden Einsatz von Daten, modernes Leadership im agilen Umfeld sowie neue digitale GeschĂ€ftsmodelle. Den Abschlussvortrag hielt Wissenschaftsjournalist Ranga Yogeshwar, der einen Blick in die digitale Zukunft warf.

Das Symposium fand in diesem aussergewöhnlichen Jahr zum ersten Mal rein virtuell statt. Per Live-Stream wurden die Referent*innen zugeschalten. Die Übertragung mit Moderator Tim DĂŒhrkoop erfolgte live aus einem Studio im Thurgau und erreichte rund 160 Teilnehmer*innen aus der Schweiz und Deutschland. Diese konnten wĂ€hrend der VortrĂ€ge im Chat interagieren, ihre Fragen an die Sprecher*innen richten oder das virtuelle Networking im direkten Austausch untereinander nutzen. Der Smart Business Day zĂ€hlt zu den wichtigsten Informationsplattformen rund um den digitalen Wandel in der Schweiz und findet seit 2009 jĂ€hrlich statt.

Tim DĂŒhrkoop, Gastgeber des Smart Business Day und Client Service Director, Namics – A Merkle Company:
„In diesem Jahr haben wir uns selber digital transformiert – statt Apero im GDI Networking per Chat. Umso mehr freue ich mich, auf einen erfolgreichen virtuellen Smart Business Day zurĂŒckblicken zu können. Die Begeisterung und Expertise der Sprecherinnen und Sprecher, die spannenden Insights rund um die digitale Transformation und der rege Austausch mit den GĂ€sten haben auch digital sehr gut funktioniert.”
Tim Duehrkoop

Smart Business Day 2020: Von der Customer Journey heutiger Kunden bis zu Emils Welt im Jahr 2100

Tag 1: Data-driven Marketing

Smart Business Day 2020 - Azlan Raj

Den Anfang am ersten Tag zum Schwerpunkt “Data-driven Marketing” machte Anastasia Roumelioti (Head of Digital Centre of Excellence, Danone Specialised Nutrition UKIR). Sie gab einen Einblick, wie Danone mit gestiegenen Kundenerwartungen umgeht, welche Rolle Daten und Technologie dabei spielen und welche Ergebnisse das Unternehmen in zwei Jahren seit der digitalen Transformation erzielen konnte. Anschliessend erklĂ€rte Azlan Raj (Chief Marketing Officer, EMEA – CXM LOB, dentsu), wie Marketer eine vollstĂ€ndige und bedeutsame Customer Experience schaffen – und dabei sowohl die sichtbare wie auch die unsichtbare Kundenerfahrung berĂŒcksichtigen. Sein Credo: “Die kleinen Dinge zĂ€hlen”.

Tag 2: Leadership

Smart Business Day 2020 - Clarissa Haller, Siemens

Der zweite Tag stand ganz unter dem Motto “Leadership”. Clarissa Haller (Head of Group Communications, Siemens) eröffnete die Vortrag-Streams und zeigte auf, wie moderne FĂŒhrung aussieht. Erfolgsfaktoren fĂŒr FĂŒhrungspersonen sind lĂ€ngst nicht mehr die Dauer der Betriebszugehörigkeit und das grösste Fachwissen. Gefragt sind vielmehr frischer Wind, Mut und das Vertrauen in die eigenen Mitarbeiter*innen. Michael Rottmann (Account Director, Namics – A Merkle Company) erklĂ€rte im Anschluss, wie Daten heute zum Erfolgsfaktor in der internen und externen Kommunikation eines Leaders werden und wie FĂŒhrungskrĂ€fte jede*n Mitarbeiter*in erreichen – von den zögerlichen Zauderern bis hin zu den jungen Innovator*innen. “Geben Sie Daten eine Chance, aber beurteilen Sie kritisch”, appellierte er. Abschliessend erlĂ€uterte Prof. Dr. Heike Bruch (Direktorin des Instituts für Führung und Personalmanagement, UniversitĂ€t St. Gallen), warum eine echte New Work- und Leadership-Transformation dringend nötig ist. “New Work braucht Unbossing”, betonte sie, klĂ€rte ĂŒber Mythen der New Work Transformation auf und zeigte wichtige Schritte zur echten Transformation.

Tag 3: Business Innovation

Smart Business Day 2020 - Ranga Yogeshwar

Der dritte und letzte Tag beschĂ€ftigte sich mit dem Thema “Business Innovation”. Philipp Wetzel (Managing Director AMAG Innovation & Venture LAB, AMAG Group) sprach in seinem Vortrag ĂŒber die Transformation der MobilitĂ€t und wie AMAG mithilfe des Innovation & Venture LAB neue Erkenntnisse gewinnt sowie innovative GeschĂ€ftsmodelle entwickelt. Zum Abschluss des Smart Business Day warf Wissenschaftsjournalist und Physiker Ranga Yogeshwar den Blick auf globale Innovationen und in die Zukunft seines Enkels: Wie wird Emils Welt aussehen? “Alles was nervt, wird digitalisierbar umgesetzt”, zeigte er etwa am Beispiel von Supermarktkassen. Bei allen bahnbrechenden technischen Entwicklungen, die durch Daten unterfĂŒttert werden, sollte die Diskussion um Ethik und Grenzen aber nicht vergessen werden, so Yogeshwar.

Die Aufzeichnungen aller VortrĂ€ge stehen Ihnen im Laufe der kommenden Woche unter folgendem Link zur VerfĂŒgung: https://namics.com/smart-business-day-2020.

Sie haben RĂŒckfragen? Ich freue mich auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

Sabrina Schöttler
Sabrina Schöttler, Communication Manager